Forums Latest Members
  1. panda

panda Mar 6, 2016

I really like the looks of CV2A1R and CAR2A10, but can't decide which one I should get. One has Day functionality, while the other has a 1887 movement. I've heard that Calibre 16 (or rather than 7750 if you get the ETA one) is a tried, true, and tested movement. I'm new to these watches. I've never owned an automatic, just quartz. Any advice on which one to get between these two? Is one worth the extra $250 retail (I will not buy used, pre-owned, or anything other than from an AD)?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Edit:
    The 2 above are my favorite, but I fear they are too attention-grabbing. The last thing I want is others gawking at my wrist. I want to wear it from myself, and not as a show model. I came across the one below, which is more subtle, but I fear it may be too subtle. This is a rhetorical question, but I can't seem to decide if I should maybe get this one.

[​IMG]

2. dtf

dtf Mar 6, 2016

My biggest piece of advice is go and try them on, wearing the sort of clothes you will be wearing them with, see how they look in the metal, how they look in daylight. I spend far too long looking at watches online, but whenever I see them in the metal, my opinion gets changed about what I want next. In your position I would also consider the anthracite version of the carrera 1887, I tried one on a couple of days ago and the anthracite/rose gold is a stunning look:

[​IMG]

Hubert likes this.
  3. elbeik

elbeik Mar 7, 2016

The black dials are more flexible with dress codes.
    The rose gold / anthracite is I agree, gorgeous.

4. panda

panda Mar 7, 2016

Thanks. I tried these in person and loved all of them - that's the problem! The anthracite and gold picture you posted is unfortunately not sold by my preferred AD (where i happen to have over a grand in gift cards), so that's out. I think I may just go with the 1887 anthracite version (the very first picture I posted). Hopefully it won't be too flashy!