Forums Latest Members
  1. barrelandblue

barrelandblue Apr 16, 2020

Hi Everyone - I'm new to vintage Heuer watches, and have been fortunate enough to have acquired a few Autavias and a Carrera that all have the Calibre 12 movement.

I know this is an incredibly stupid question - but with the crown on the lefthand side I wanted to make sure I'm hand-winding it correctly. Generally I only hand wind if the watch is empty of power reserve and I want to start wearing it and jumpstarting the movement. So I suppose my questions are:

1) Is it bad on the movement to hand-wind an empty Calibre 12? Or should I just put it on and get the rotor moving to get things started?

2) Do I wind it clockwise or counter-clockwise as the crown is on the left? It is MUCH easier to wind counterclockwise, and when I go backward (our clockwise) it seems to be really gritty and worries me that I may be causing damage to the movement.

Anyways - any tips for what is best for these 1970's watches would be MIUCH appreciated - and sorry for the total newbie questions!

2. abrod520

abrod520 Apr 16, 2020

Welcome to the Forum and to the world of Chronomatic movements! :)

Nope, perfectly OK :thumbsup: They tend to have pretty good power reserves too so simply wearing it daily should keep it running.

Clockwise, just like any other watch - the watch module on these was just rotated 180 degrees. What I always did with mine was to turn it upside down, and wind as regular. They are gritty-feeling to hand wind, but if it feels as if you are truly forcing it you may want to have it checked by a watchmaker. Otherwise it may take a bit more effort than a more modern automatic watch, but won't hurt it.

Calibre11 likes this.
  3. barrelandblue

barrelandblue Apr 16, 2020

That's amazing - thanks so much for the help!!!!!!

4. Calibre11

Calibre11 Editor of Calibre11.com Staff Member Apr 16, 2020

I used to do the same- turn it around and wind like normal

abrod520 and Hubert like this.
  5. SteveP