Forums Latest Members

Carrera Twin Time - advice on switching dials please

1. MH65

MH65 Oct 21, 2015

Hi all,

I'm new to this great website and forum, and would appreciate advice please.

I'm the proud owner of a Carrera Twin Time with a silver dial ( WV2116)
    I've had the watch for 10 years and it's been fantastic.
    Lately the original strap (FC6181) has broken so I need to replace that.

Whilst looking at the official Tag Heuer service and repair website a few days back in the U.K. ( mainly to get their number to check on the price for a replacement strap ) I noticed that they offer a service to change the dial of several models.

I phoned them and they confirmed that they would be able to do this for my particular watch, as I'm potentially interested in switching my watch from the original silver to a black dial ( WV2115 ).

The reason for me being interested in potentially switching to the black dial is not just for aesthetic reasons, but is mainly driven by what I think would be easier readability. My eyesight is not what it was 10 years ago, and I think the black dial behind silver hands would make it more easily readable than the silver dial behind silver hands.

My questions are ;
    1/ do you agree that the black dial (WV2115) is more easily readable compared to the silver dial version (WV2116) ?

2/ has anyone used this service of switching dials, and any comments on it ?

3 / on the off chance that I don't like the resulting switch, can it be reversed at a later time ?

By the way, if I do decide to switch I appreciate that I'd also be better with the black strap too ( FC6180 ).
    If anyone is interested, the price they charge for switching dials is £284.20 ( including 20% vat ) and a £25 labour charge.

Thanks in advance for help.

Edited Oct 21, 2015
  2. Calibre11

Calibre11 Editor of Calibre11.com Staff Member Oct 21, 2015

Hi there,